New Features: Archiving Courses and Groups

Contributed By

Dylan Rodgers

Content Strategy Manager and Editor in Chief of the Schoology Exchange

New Features: Archiving Courses and Groups

Posted in Schoology | June 07, 2013

Happy Friday, Schoology Community!

It is that time of of the week again—the time where we unveil the newest additions to your favorite education platform! This week we have some updates that you may want to become familiar with as the school year comes to a close.

Archiving Courses (Free Accounts Only)

You now have the ability to archive your courses that do not have an established grading period. This is just like the automated archiving of courses when their grading periods expire, except you must do it manually. Nevertheless, you don't need to scroll past the courses you don't use anymore in your dropdown menu to get to your live ones any longer. Here's how it all works:

To archive a course without a grading period, select the Courses dropdown menu and click See All (notice that the Past button is now called Archived). Click the gear icon next to the course you'd like to archive. You'll see the option to archive your courses by sections as shown below:

Remember that you can access your archived courses and even restore them at any time, so don't be afraid to do a little summer cleaning if you've got the urge.

Archiving Groups

If you are the administrator of a group, you now have the ability to archive it just like a course. To do so, simply select the Groups dropdown menu and choose See All. Click the gear icon next to a group and archive it. In the same way as archived courses, you will always have the option to access your archived groups and restore them along with all the important content they contain.

Those are our latest updates. As always, we're interested in your feedback, so feel free to comment below. And if you have any questions or concerns, please check our Help Center Guides or Submit a Request to our Support Team.

Join the Conversation